Bad news everyone, Dropbox confirms that some users of older desktop Dropbox clients using the Selective Sync feature have lost data. Most of it is said to be restored, but not all of it.
In light of all of this, we’ve taken the following steps to ensure the Selective Sync bug won’t affect anyone else going forward:
1) we’ve patched our desktop client so this issue doesn’t exist in Dropbox anymore; 2) we’ve made sure all our users are running an updated version of the Dropbox client; and 3) we’ve retired all affected versions of the Dropbox client so no one can use them.
We’ve also put additional testing in place to prevent this from happening in the future.
This is a good reminder that cloud sync isn’t the same as backing up.